Wheel size change

Today, I’ve installed new IGUS rod end bearings and a older 20″ front wheel set with 28mm wide Sun Rhyno Lite rims, shod with skinny 28-406 Schwalbe Durano. The rear wheel got a 50-559 Kojak again.

While handling is very good with 24″ front wheels, as far as I can tell after my short 8km ride around the park, corner handling with 20″ front wheels is simply a notch better.
Steering response is a bit quicker, but is still rock steady on the straight at speed.

I didn’t use skinny 20″ front wheels on my trikes in ages, but have a particular car park in mind where this wheel set-up should be perfect.

Obviously the seat is less reclined, the bottom bracket is much lower and there is awfully few space between road and frame with the small front wheels. I think I keep this set-up for a few weeks, to see how I like it.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Cycling, Recumbent Trike and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

